St. Charles Workers Compensation Lawyers
Filing a St. Charles workers compensation claim can be a complicated process with unexpected pitfalls that can potentially prevent you from getting the benefits you and your family need.
Thousands of Missouri workers are injured each year. Missouri law requires all construction employers to carry insurance regardless of size, and all other employers with 5 or more employees to carry workers compensation insurance.
For employees who are injured on the job, work comp pays for medical treatment, future medical care, tax free lost time benefits at about 2/3’s of your average weekly earnings, and either permanent partial disability or permanent total disability. The workers compensation law requires prompt payment of benefits at no cost to you if you sustain a work-related injury covered under the law. The work comp carrier can be sanctioned at trial if any part of your claim is defended without reasonable grounds.
For more than 20 years, the Law Office of James M. Hoffmann has been helping St. Charles injured workers get the medical benefits and income they need to move forward. You should be receiving treatment and benefits for ALL of your injuries, not just the ones the insurance carrier wants to accept. Do not let the carrier deny you benefits.
How to File a St. Charles Workers Compensation Claim
The laws passed by the state of Missouri require that your employer, or your employer’s insurance company, compensate you or your family for injuries or death that may occur while you are working.
Workers compensation is often not something you simply file for and receive. Many times you have to take an active role in getting access to your rights. There are many things you need to understand about the workers compensation process.
However, if you have been injured at work, it is important to follow these steps:
- Notify your employer/supervisor
- Seek immediate medical treatment
- Contact a St. Charles Workers Compensation Lawyer
These steps are important because in Missouri, a workplace injury must be reported to your employer within 30 days. If you fail to report the incident to your employer within 30 days, you may jeopardize your ability to receive workers comp benefits.
When you report the accident to your employer, in addition to your name and address, be sure to write down the date, time and place of the injury, or where your exposure took place. Make copies of the report for yourself. The more information you have, the more beneficial it will be to your case.
Contact the St. Charles Workers Compensation Lawyers
At the Law Office of James M. Hoffmann, our St. Charles Workers Compensation Lawyers have practiced workers compensation law for more than 20 years. We have represented clients who have suffered all types of work related injuries and have a strong history of helping injured workers get the medical attention and financial compensation that they need.